Meta-Leader Award

Each year one of our NPLI Executive Education alumni is chosen as our Meta-Leader of the Year person. The award goes to an alumni based on the following criteria:

The person chosen has demonstrated extraordinary meta-leadership in the midst of a nationally or internationally significant situation over the previous year. The leadership contribution applies to filed operations such as a crisis response, policy development, or organizational transformation. Specifically this person:

  • is a role model with people following him/her;
  • is engaging, inspiring, and motivates others;
  • has the ability to astutely discern what is happening in a situation and takes action to bring about the best possible resolution for all stakeholders;
  • and has the ability to create unity of purpose among stakeholders in order to accomplish something together that none could have achieved alone.

2017 Meta-Leader of the Year

Jono Anzalone, Vice President for International Services at the American Red Cross: It was a year to remember for preparedness and response leaders: hurricanes, fires, floods, shootings, and more challenged leaders and their organizations again and again. This made it a challenge to select a 2017 Meta-Leader of the Year as National Preparedness Leadership Initiative (NPLI) alumni were involved in many of these events.


Previous Meta-Leader of the Year Recipients:

2016: Jane Cage, Chairman, Joplin Citizens Advisory Recovery Team

2015: Alice Hill, Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director for Resilience Policy, National Security Council, The White House

2014: Martin Cetron, M.D., Director, Division of Global Migration and Quarantine, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

2013: William “Billy” Evans, Superintendent, Boston Police Department

2011: Rich Serino, Deputy Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency

2010: Rear Admiral Peter V. Neffenger, Deputy National Incident Commander Deepwater Horizon, U.S. Coast Guard

2009: Richard E. Besser, M.D., Acting Director, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention